• Student Life
The Lawrence Honored with Two Scholastic Newspaper Awards

The 141st editorial board of The Lawrence has won two Scholastic Newspaper Awards for its work over the past year. The student-led newspaper received “First Place with Special Merit” and “Most Outstanding High School Newspaper” honors. These awards are presented by the American Scholastic Press Association.

“This award is an incredible honor and a testament to the hard work the 141st Board put in week in and week out throughout its tenure. Without a doubt, producing a newspaper for an extended community like Lawrenceville has been a privilege in and of itself,” said Joshua Cigoianu ’22, editor-in-chief of the 141st Lawrence editorial board. “The newspaper has served the student body as a medium to voice individual and collective thoughts, start discussion, and as a way to bring people closer together through journalism: that’s what makes The Lawrence so special. However, it’s an amazing feeling to know the Board’s efforts, and The Lawrence as a whole, is nationally recognized against other scholastic newspapers as well.”

In addition to Cigoianu, members of the 141st editorial board of The Lawrence were: Carina Li (Managing Editor), Richard Zhou (News Editor), Helen Liu (Opinions Editor), Philip Park (Opinions Editor), Angel Zhang (Arts Editor), Michael Sotirescu (Sports Editor), Andrew Lee (Sports Editor), Caroline Steib (Features Editor), Sara Xu (Features Editor), Autri Basu (Copy Editor), Ben Cavanagh (Copy Editor), Quincy Leung (Photos Editor), Sally Lee (Web Editor), and Stephanie Xu (Graphics Editor). English teachers Elizabeth Buckles and Maggie Ray serve as faculty advisors.

For additional information, contact Lisa M. Gillard H'17, director of public relations, at lgillard@lawrenceville.org.

Recent News